Contact: Alberto Rodriguez
Phone: 602.340.7337

State Bar of Arizona Announces Annual Award Winners at Largest Gathering of Attorneys in the State

PHOENIX – June 28, 2019 – The State Bar of Arizona today recognized 12 individuals and one organization for their contributions to the legal profession at the 2019 State Bar of Arizona Annual Convention at the Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass in Phoenix, June 26-28. Award winners include:

Award of Appreciation – Coconino County Board of Supervisors
Award of Special Merit – Judge Dan Slayton
Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award – Judge Randall M. Howe and Jim O’Sullivan
Hon. John R. Sticht Excellence in Disabilities Accessibility Award – Bridget O’Brien Swartz
James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award – Chief Justice Scott Bales
Member of the Year Award – Patricia K. Norris
Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award – Ryan P. Green
Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award – Nona Lee
Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award – Deonissa Cañez-Anderson
Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award – Dwane Cates and Tom Crowe

The only award presented at the Annual Convention that is not decided by the Board of Governors, is the President's Award. The president chooses someone who has made significant contributions to the Arizona legal community. This year, two recipients will receive this recognition.

President's Award – Charles W. “Chas” Wirken and Laura Zeman-Mullen

For a complete list of 2019 award descriptions and recipient bios visit:

If you require additional information about the awards, contact Carrie Sherman via email at or 602.340.7201.

About the State Bar
The State Bar of Arizona is a non-profit organization that operates under the supervision of the Arizona Supreme Court. The Bar includes approximately 24,500 attorneys and provides education and development programs for the legal profession and the public. Since 1933 the Bar and its members have been committed to serving the public by making sure the voices of all people in Arizona are heard in our justice system.

# # #

Copyright ©2004-2020 State Bar of Arizona